Sushi in Shibuya – Midori-zushi

I touched down in Tokyo on the 19th and the amount of food I have eaten since then is astronomical. I can’t help it! It’s cold and food (need I say, GREAT food) is so cheap. I went to try this well-known sushi place among both locals and foreigners called Midori-zushi (寿司の美登利) located on the 4th level of Mark City at Shibuya Station. I recommend that you go during non-peak eating hours to avoid the massive line, but even then, I can guarantee you will still have to wait a little. If you’re really in a hurry, you can also get take-away.

We went on Thursday around 2pm and waited for maybe 10 – 15 minutes so it wasn`t so bad. We were welcomed with the usual IRASHIAIMASE! (Japanese restaurants usually welcome their customers in with this) and were seated at the counter. I ordered a Lunch Set, as you can see below, which came with miso soup, chawanmushi (Japanese egg dish) and crab miso salad. This was ¥2100 (around AU$24 – in Australia this would cost >$30). My mum got a different lunch set – also ¥2100. Everything else on their menu was reasonably priced.

The sushi was amazing – probably the best sushi I have ever had. The sashimi pieces were generous, seaweed crunchy, and everything tasted so fresh. For the crab sushi, they even pre-cut the shell so you can easily get the remaining crab meat out. The eel sushi was creamy and just melted in your mouth….I’m getting hungry just talking about it.

ImageImageImage

Luckily, at the counter, I got to see all the sushi chef’s in action. From their faces, I can tell that they put every bit of effort into the sushi they are making, creating a warm buzz of energy in the room. You can see that everyone, not only the customers, are enjoying themselves.

ImageImage

Image

Midori-zushi
Dogenzaka 1-12-3, Mark City East 4F Shibuya
Open from 11am – 10pm daily.

5 responses to “Sushi in Shibuya – Midori-zushi

  1. 10-15 mins of wait is not bad, indeed. Since I heard there could be far longer ones at their door. What have been your top 3 favourite sushiyas in Tokyo? Thanks for sharing. I want to try some of their affordable ones, some of their mid levels and high end ones too.

Leave a Reply

