Climbing the Tokyo Sky Tree

Just some shots of the never-ending metropolis that is Tokyo.

Please excuse some of the photo’s – I’m still getting used to using my Canon 650D and I was experimenting between night mode and HDR mode to get a good shot! If you have any tips on how to get a good night shot, please let me know πŸ™‚

I would definitely recommend visiting the Tokyo Sky Tree. If you don’t want the crowds, I suggest going during a weekday. I went on a Thursday night around 7pm and there were lines wrapping through the whole ticketing place…around a 20 minute wait.

They have two viewing decks: the Tembo Deck and Tembo Galleria which are at 350m and 450m, respectively. It cost 2000 Yen to go to the first deck and an extra 1000 Yen to go another 100m up which you can buy at the Tembo Deck. In my opinion, there wasn’t much of a difference in view from the Tembo Galleria so I didn’t think it was worth the extra 1000 Yen…but perhaps it’s better during the day? Not so sure…

Although I didn’t go, there is a cafe at the Tembo Deck which would be a nice place to have a coffee or an icecream and rest your sore arms after holding up your camera (obviously I need more muscles…).

Image

Image

Image

When we were going up the lift they illuminated everything in blue above us which looked pretty cool! That was the only steady shot I could get though…sigh…I really need to practice my camera skills.

Image

Image

Image

8 responses to “Climbing the Tokyo Sky Tree

  1. Awesome! Haven’t been there yet, hope to try and climb that baby soon haha. When I saw your title I really thought you literally climbed it up. I’ve tried literally climbing Tokyo Tower by stairs, so I can’t imagine just how difficult a climb up Skytree would be haha

  2. Some nice shots there! When it comes to night photography your first option should always be a tripod..but obviously that’s not always practical πŸ™‚ Second option is to use the widest aperture possible (smallest ‘f’ number). Third option is to raise your ISO setting (but this will introduce grainy ‘noise’ into the image if you go too high).

    I hope this helps!

    • Thank you Andrew! I didn’t know that using the widest aperture would help πŸ™‚ I will try these next time. Yes..I wish I had a tripod…it’s so hard to keep my camera still when taking the shot. I have resorted to holding my breath haha

      • Holding the breath is definitely a good practice to get yourself into (just not for too long :D). A wide aperture means you let more light into your camera so that means you can use a faster shutter speed which means less blur. Another trick is to brace yourself against a railing or wall.

        Glad I could help πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

