Jiro Dreams of Sushi and I Dream of Eating at His Restaurant

Yesterday was a good day. I accomplished one of my New Years Resolutions. I ran 5km in 29 minutes (1 minute before my goal time)! I hope my Nike Fitness thing on my iPod Nano recorded it properly…but I’ll take it anyway haha

It’s strange because I have been feeling particularly lazy lately and have not been motivated to run, or for that matter, do anything at all…perhaps I am squeezing my last bit of free time out before I start full-time work next week.

Before my run, I watched Jiro Dreams of Sushi and I think this movie definitely changed my train of thought. The movie is about Jiro, an 85 year old sushi master or shokunin who runs a modest 10-seater sushi shop in Ginza, Tokyo. He is also the world’s oldest chef to have 3 Michelin Stars. Having been thrown out of the house when he was only 9 years old, Jiro has had to work to survive and developed a philosophy that the key to success is to dedicate your life to mastering your skill. It is this dedication and self-discipline that amazes me and is what I often find in many Japanese people that I meet. If you are given the opportunity, why not make the most of it and do the best you can, right?

There are no California or Teriyaki Chicken Rolls at Jiro’s shop, it is purely sushi, as it should be. Even his menu on his website is simple. As Yamamoto, the food writer, says in the movie:

Ultimate simplicity leads to purity

Screen shot 2013-02-23 at 10.09.45 PM

After watching the movie, I made a mental note to keep Jiro’s philosophy in mind and be more active in where I want to take my life. Sitting around really doesn’t get you anywhere.

One response to “Jiro Dreams of Sushi and I Dream of Eating at His Restaurant

  1. I recently saw this documentary and was very impressed by it. It really made me miss Japan. In Belgium perfectionism is often perceived as a bad quality, while in Japan it is highly valued.

Leave a Reply

